My Favorite Books I Read in 2014

I thought I would do an overview of the books that I liked the most in 2014, even though it’s almost impossible to decide which books to talk about.  I reviewed some of them, and others I simply read and enjoyed. My favorite series would have to be The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. My second favorite series would be Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant by Veronica Roth.

Another book that I enjoyed was Chestnut Street by Maeve Binchy, although this was her last book, and it was particularly sad reading it. I recommend anything that she wrote. It was devastating when she died in 2012. She will be missed.  Other books that were really very good include: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green; Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige; Chomp by Carl Hiaasen (I recommend anything by him); Sunshine on Scotland Street by Alexander McCall Smith (his books are wonderful, but I really enjoy the Scotland Street series); Bittersweet by Colleen McCullough was fabulous; The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory (again, anything by her is wonderful); and I’ll end with Lisette’s List by Susan Vreeland.

I could go on and on but I can’t just list every book I read this year. As I look back at the books that I’ve read over 2014, I have to say that they ran the gambit from King Henry VIII to the dystopian worlds of The Hunger Games and Divergent, and then to the fantastical world of Carl Hiaasen’s Florida. I seem to have a wide-ranging interest in just about anything. I really like my fantasy and my “real” world. But how else could I have become as well-traveled through time and space but inside the world of books?

Leave a Reply

