The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce – Book Review

The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce – Book Review

 

It’s not often that a book makes me unexpectedly burst into tears when I begin reading the first sentences of the last chapter. That is what this book did. It was unexpected since I didn’t see it coming – a true twist; and a sad one as well. It must be said that this book is a companion book to Joyce’s previous one called The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry which tells us of the long walk Harold Fry takes to see Queenie Hennessy after she writes him a letter. This book is the letter that Queenie writes for Harold Fry to read when he finally arrives at the Hospice. You don’t have to read book about Harold Fry, however it would help you to understand the premise better if you did.

 

I loved this book. It was hard to read, since Queenie is dying, and this is not a “nice” subject; however, I found her “letter” (the substance of the novel) to be entertaining and interesting. She had led a “little” life, never doing anything of much merit, however, everyone has a story, this is hers, and I loved it. Queenie’s story kept my mind occupied with thinking about her when I wasn’t reading the book. The way that Queenie simply loved with no expectations was in itself, the very essence of love. I found myself turning her story over and over in my mind, looking at it from different facets of light. It occupied me and I imagine it will continue to do so.

 

I highly recommend this book. If you’ve ever wondered what true love is, read this book and pay attention – especially to Queenie’s words near the end.

Leave a Reply

