The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman – Book Review

I really enjoyed this book. As I hadn’t read any of Gaiman’s other books (a shame that I intend to rectify), I didn’t know exactly what I was getting myself into. Once I realized that the story wasn’t some kind of dream, but a re-telling of the past that the narrator is telling us, I knew that I was in for a treat.

The attention to detail here is wonderful. Names, we are told, have power; therefore the main character never tells us his name. There are the usual characters, after all a boy usually does have a mother, father and in this case, a sister.  However we are also treated to the crone, mother and maiden.  This is a sort of fairy tale regarding things that go bump in the night; grown-ups’ inability to see evil when it’s staring them in the face; and the power of children to prevail.

neil-gaiman-quote

As I don’t want to give anything away, just read the book. It will give you plenty to think about, and isn’t that the idea of reading anyway?

Leave a Reply

