Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge – Book Review

This was a creepy mystery/thriller that had me by the throat from the first page. While reading it I had more theories as to exactly what was going on than there were chapters in the book.  As I don’t normally read books in this genre, I have to say that I’m so glad that I read this one, and will be reading more of Hardinges’ books in the future.

This is the story of how Triss Crescent wakes up one day with only a few memories and the feeling of being slightly “off”. The strangeness continues when her dolls look at her and scream. As she tries to put together the mystery of what she is, the novel only gets more mysterious and scary.  One of my favorite parts of the book is both the character development and the changing relationships between those characters.

I’m not going to tell you what happens, as I’d like you to try to figure out the real deal. However, the twists and turns of this story always had me changing my theories with every turn of the page.

I read this book in only two days, as I simply had to find out what was really going on. I highly recommend it even if you don’t like creepy mystery/thrillers. The writing was wonderful, the descriptions were great, and I loved the characters.  A very good read!

Leave a Reply

