Halloween – Books for Scares!

I really wish that I had more time and could have read a few more scary books. However, I did compile a short list of some hair-raising tales for you. Some of these I did read, and some of them were recommended for this list. Here they are:

This is the first in a series of Young Adult books.  Of course, following in the Halloween theme, this is a horror novel.  I read this one and really liked it.  However, I haven’t read the other books in the series yet.  I’m assuming that they are as thrilling as this one.

Again, this is a book that I’ve read.  Gaiman has a real talent for telling horror stories in a matter-of-fact manner; and keeping you on the edge of your seat while doing it.

This is one of the recommendations that I haven’t read, although after reading the review I will put it on my list.  Again, it’s a demon filled fright-fest which should be wonderful for the holiday.

Here is another book that I have read.  It concerns the year 1918, including all the ghoulishness of the influenza epidemic, the First World War and the greed of regular people.  It’s both a horror novel and a thriller as there is a mystery to be solved.

The is a novel that I haven’t read yet.  It is a re-imagining of The Fall of the House of Usher and as such is full of all the thrills, chills and horrors that the Usher’s lived with.  I’ve paged through this one, and will read it once I get some time.

Happy Haunting!

3 thoughts on “Halloween – Books for Scares!

Leave a Reply

