Written in My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon – Book Review

Written in My Own Heart’s Blood is the latest novel in the Outlander series, and as such continues the story so far. I must say that I really like this series; the attention to detail, the character development and the exciting scenarios really help move the story along. If there was an issue for me, it’s that now we’ve got so many plot lines going that it’s hard to spend enough time on each.

That being said, every time Gabaldon switches focus, I do tend to get completely caught up with that plot and actually forget about the rest of the characters. It’s only when we switch back that I realize “oh yeah, what is going on with these other characters?” This to me is one of the hallmarks of a good novel. I find I’m completely absorbed in this one time-line and I manage to stop wondering obsessively over the others.

This novel is still focusing on the American Revolution, and in the next one, I hope that we get the rest of Brianna and Rogers’ story. I kept hoping that we would switch back to their family, but I’m assuming the next novel will fill in those details. I actually read the series almost back-to-back, so now I’ll have to join all the other fans and wait for the next installment with bated breath. I highly recommend all the novels in this series!

Leave a Reply

