Top 5 Books I Read in 2015

Magic_3_by_Ameliy

 

This is a list of the books that I enjoyed a lot in the past year. I read a lot of different kinds of books, and some have been reviewed here.  That being said, I really couldn’t come up with the best since I really really like almost all the books that I read.  So, really, here’s a list of some of my favorites.

 01-big-magic-book-review

  1. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

I loved this book for the same reason that I love Gilbert. She is joyful. Creativity is for all of us, not just those who call themselves artists.

 51x6ZsfeaWL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

  1. House of Thieves by Charles Belfoure

   Who doesn’t love a book where those who have been treated terribly get to shine (through nefarious means) in the end? Also the Gilded Age, the Astor’s, bad behavior, social unrest and thievery.

 

  1. Tracks by Robyn Davidson

   This is the second time I read this book, and I have to say that it affected me the same way as the first.  This is one of those books that makes me want to go out and take my own journey.  It was a life-changer for me.

 51NURZvogOL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

  1. A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R.R. Martin

   While I have to admit that I’m not at all happy with how long Martin is taking with the next book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, this book is a wonderful fantasy book – which by the way – is the first in a series. Yes, Martin, please please please finish A Song of Ice and Fire before we all explode with anticipation! However, this book was a great fantasy romp. And, as an added bonus, is also illustrated! How utterly cool is that?

 harkness-a_discovery_of_witches

  1. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

   I actually just finished this, so it’s utmost on my mind. I will be reviewing it in the near future. It’s the first in a trilogy, so I’ll be trying to see if I can find the second and third books at nearby libraries, since my library doesn’t have them. It’s a good fantasy/supernatural book with all the requisite angst and magic. Great fun.

 103512491405773624_jwtnstjk_c

So here you have it. Another list of interesting, fun books. I hope that you have plenty of time to read in the New Year!

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Books I Read in 2015

Leave a Reply

