The Bitter Season by Tami Hoag – Book Review

the bitter season

 

I occasionally will read a murder mystery and Hoag is one writer I feel is worth reading. In her latest book, The Bitter Season, Sam Kovac has been separated from his long-term partner Nikki Liska. By the way, I love the continuation of the stories of these two detectives. In this novel, Liska has moved to the cold-case unit since she is under the impression that this unit will provide her with more time at home with her two teenage sons.

cold-case-file-closed.jpg.crop_display

The cold case that Liska is working on, the murder of a cop named Ted Duffy, is full of people not wanting it solved, which of course makes Liska (and us), highly suspicious. Eventually the case leads to a current case that Kovac is working on.

4122cfe753b980973f9c9671eb55183c

Since I don’t want to give away any of the plot twists and turns, I will refrain from telling you anymore details. However, some of these twists came out the blue and clobbered me over the head in how they were intertwined. I must say that I really enjoyed this novel, and look forward to reading Hoags’ next one. I highly recommend The Bitter Season.

Leave a Reply

