A Love Lettter to Harry Potter

harry potter1

Instead of writing a book review, I’m going to do something a little different today.  I thought that once in a while I would write a love letter to different books or series that I really loved.  The first one is on Harry Potter.

I don’t know if any of you have read the Harry Potter series.  If you haven’t you probably should, since you’re missing out.  But somehow I have the feeling that you know just what I’m talking about.

harry potter2

When the first book came out, my kids were just 8 and 5.  After reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone myself, I read it to my kids.  Now mind you, I had already read them The Hobbit and The Lord of the Ring trilogy.  Harry Potter is the single series that I credit with giving both of my children the fire to read.  Hence my love affair.  But the best reason to read the books is the magical writing of J.K. Rowling.  She created an entire world and peopled it with characters that were both good and bad.  Nothing was black and white – just like the real world, only of course, better.  And, of course love was the most powerful magic of all.

Not only were the novels exciting, they were also full of little lessons that you didn’t even notice.  Harry was good – but Tom Riddle wasn’t.  Both had the same type of upbringing, however they each turned out differently.  Choices made all the differences.  And the great lines and quotes that I didn’t really quite catch the first time when I read them to myself, but did when I read them to my kids.  Something new every time.

harry_potter_quote_cut_from_pages_from_the_book_by_anti_sparklyvampire-d4hi0zm

Do you have a love letter you’d like to write about a certain book, series or author?  Please share.

Leave a Reply

