Reader, I Married Him – Edited by Tracy Chevalier – Book Review

Reader, I Married Him

 

If you are someone who has read Jane Eyre more than once, I believe that you will enjoy these stories, written by a collection of authors (Tracy Chevalier, Tessa Hadley, Elizabeth McCracken, Francine Prose, and others) who were inspired by the “reader, I married him” at the end of Jane Eyre.  I also believe that even if you are not *gasp* a fan of Jane Eyre, you will still enjoy these short stories.

CBRichmond

Charlotte Bronte

Each author has a different take on how this line could be interpreted, and each short story is unique.   I loved the diversity of the stories.  There were different settings, different voices and ways of telling each story.  The creativity that runs through these stories is a true pleasure to read.  How can it be that 200 year latter, Charlotte Bronte is still causing our imaginations to soar?  I highly recommend this book!

Classic_Quotes_1-50_13

 

9 thoughts on “Reader, I Married Him – Edited by Tracy Chevalier – Book Review

Leave a Reply

