Wilde Lake by Laura Lippman – Book Review

Wilde-Lake-cover

There are certain genres that I never really thought that I’d read a lot of, and crime novels were one of them.  However, I’ve found a few authors that I really like, and Lippman is one of them.  In the past, most crime novels were completely plot-driven, and there was little to no character development (which I enjoy).  However, Lippman’s novels are all about the crime, and all about the character development, and relationships.

murder-investigation

The novel revolves around a murder that once unraveled reveals personal ties to “Lu” Brant, the newly elected state’s attorney of Howard County, Maryland.  I really liked how the story was told, revealing Lu’s daily life, and her childhood, in bits between the murder investigations.  Lu learns about long-kept family secrets, shocking information regarding a long-ago murder, and also has some revelations regarding her own relationships.

The novel keeps you turning the pages to find out what will be reveled next, which I found captivating.  I won’t go into much detail here, since I want you to read this novel.  Well done, Lippman.  I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

