Good-bye 2016!

goodbye

There were so many good books that I read this year, and I know that there will be many more good books to read next year.  I’m not going to write a review this week, instead I’d like to let you know about some of the good books that I read this year, but didn’t review.  There are so many books, and I’ve got so little time to devote to reading them.  It’s really sad, actually.  I wish there was a job where all you had to do was curl up in a comfy chair, drink tea and read all day.  And, that someone would pay you for that.  How great would that be?  However, that’s a fantasy job, and unfortunately, I live in reality – except of course, when I’m reading.  Here are some of the more notable books that I’ve come across this year.

Rasputin’s Daughter by Robert Alexander – This one is really good, and the Russian history is interesting, not to mention the information on Rasputin and his family.

Friday on My Mind by Nicci French – I love this mystery series.  You can read them in order, or they also work as a stand-alone novel.

Razor Girl by Carl Hiaasen – Simply insane, after all, it’s Carl Hiaasen

Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood – It’s Margaret Atwood and a layered re-telling of The Tempest, how can you go wrong?

Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – This is the last in a trilogy.  Fantasy at its best, and I highly recommend this series if you are a fan of fantasy.

the-last-execution-9781481429658_hr

            The Last Execution by Jesper Wung-Sung – How do I describe this novel?  It’s the fictional story of the real last execution that took place in Denmark in 1853.  This book was extremely hard to read, as the real crime was poverty.  I didn’t review this, although it was the most deserving of a review of all the books that I read this year.  I’m still processing this novel, even though I read it months ago, and if you do read it, let me know what you think.

These were a disparate group of books, however, I really liked them all.  Books serve such a fabulous function in the world today.  They open our minds to other times, places and cultures. And, in doing so, make us more understanding and tolerant of all the different people who live on this planet with us.

I hope that everyone has a wonderful New Year!  And, just keep on reading.

so-many-books-so-little-time-from-sharon

This is me realizing that I’ll never ever read all the books in the library!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Good-bye 2016!

Leave a Reply

