The Orphan Keeper by Camron Wright – Book Review

theorphankeeper

This is a novel based on the true story of Taj Rowland.  Taj was an “orphan” adopted by a couple from America at the age of seven.  Once he is able to speak and understand English, he insists that he’s no orphan, has a family in India and was kidnapped.  Although his adopted parents try to find information about who he is, and where he came from, they hit dead ends.  Taj (his birth name was Chellamuthu, but his adopted parents suggested he change it due to problems with bullies in school), he finds it easier to “forget” about his life in India and eventually goes to England where he is thrown into the culture of India.

taj-and-his-wife

Taj and his wife Priya

As Taj begins to remember his early life, he is saddled with uncomfortable memories and feelings.  I won’t tell any more of the plot, as I would like for you to read this novel yourself.  I found this novel to be completely compelling, not in the least because my nephew was adopted from India as a baby, and now I wonder if he was indeed an orphan as my sister and her husband were told.

The way that the novel was written, the true (though fictionalized) way the story was told were all so interesting.  I loved how I learned more about the culture and life of India than I had known before.  I highly recommend this book.  Well done, Wright!

camronwright

Camron Wright

 

Leave a Reply

